Division Awards - Atlantic Division Website

Go to content

Division Awards

2018 Atlantic Division Awards

Do you know someone who has really stood out in their service to amateur radio? That service could be in: technical abilities; public service; training; education, you name it.
Wouldn't it be an honor for that individual or group to be recognized by their peers for their time and talents spent in good service to others?
Why not nominate them for one of the Atlantic Division Awards that they qualify for?
Atlantic Division awards are presented annually to the hams who make us proud to be part of the Amateur Radio Service. Nominations are taken from the ham community.  The awards are conferred at the annual Division Convention. Amateurs of any license class may be nominated for awards.
Nominations must come from within the Atlantic Division.
The Awards Committee may, at their discretion, shift a nomination made in one award category to another award category, in order to honor a larger number of worthy nominees.


The Radio Amateur in the Atlantic Division whose record merits recognition for outstanding contributions to the Amateur Radio Service.
He or she is active on the air and in Amateur Radio organizations. The Amateur of the Year is an all-round Amateur, whose activities, attitudes, and achievements may serve as an example to others. Devotion to Amateur Radio is balanced with attention to work responsibilities and family life. The Amateur of the Year exemplifies the "Amateur's Code."
In selecting the award recipient, emphasis is placed on service to others rather than self, diversity of Amateur Radio interests and activities, evidence of continuing self-challenge, and outstanding contributions to Amateur Radio in the year preceding nomination.

This award is named after Keith Freeberg N2BEL who was very involved in amateur radio and amateur radio training in the Western New York Section.  Keith had a unique ability to teach amateur radio to people of all ages.  He had an affinity for working with young people and was very involved with one of the few Radio Coaches programs.  It is very fitting that this award is dedicated to his memory and that the successful candidate demonstrate an ability to successfully train people in amateur radio.  The emphasis is on quality of training and not pure number of people trained.


The Radio Amateur(s) in the Atlantic Division whose technical excellence exemplifies "continuation of the Amateur's proven ability to contribute to the advancement of the radio art," and whose attitude exemplifies the highest dedication to service to others and to science, rather than self. Particular value will be placed on evidence of continuing contributions to the Amateur Radio Service.
Groups of two or more Amateurs may be nominated for a joint award in this category. Technical achievement may be demonstrated through activities such as the following: publications, research and development, creativity in hardware/firmware/software, systems design and implementation, technical instruction, application of advanced technology to public service communications. This award is presented at the discretion of the Awards Committee, not necessarily every year.

The nomination period closes Wednesday, October 31, 2018 for this nomination.
For more information, please go to: http://www.atldiv.org/AtlAwards.htm
Back to content